Birthday Post: Still here

My cup of coffee is getting cold beside me as I write this. Initially, my throat wanted some tea to help me assimilate into the general concept of  starting the day.Coffee was only going to keep me more awake and my body has never felt more alive. Thing is, life has a funny way of defeating our assumptions. Best I stay awake than sleep off unexpectedly at the appointments I have today; prevention is better than cure I guess.

I have a screening test today for a very crummy job, which if I do say so myself, is not worth my time or expenditure of my remaining pand. I sometimes wish we had trial versions of this adulting thing so we could decide whether or not we want to ‘adult’. Better yet, if we could get paid for sleeping. That I’d eagerly do without questions. Nevertheless, bread must remain on the table and school fees have to be paid. So in the words of Jimmy Webb and in an apology to my beloved bed, “up, up and away we go”.

As the post title suggests, yes it is my birthday. I’m not going to lie and act like I did this unconsciously. I…..*coughs slightly*

(Sorry. I have a little cough as you can see.)

I, Enyinnaya Kuro Onwuteaka, The Indomitable Tiger, The Shadow Cheetah, put that there. (Forgive the name calling, I’m in a phase, don’t spoil it for me…thanks).

In recent times, I haven’t been feeling all powerful. Over time, my self perception has exponentially diminished from an outrageous tiger to a shy meerkat. 2016 hasn’t been so great for me since the year began. ISIS have been running rampant, Boko Haram have gone unpunished, Nigeria is failing, America is about to potentially become worse than the doomsday it already is, the UK economy is flailing desperate arms in recent times. This year has really been a really wild coaster ride for the world if I might conclude.

What about you Enyi? What’s going on with you?

Well I’ve been under the stress of family and financial obligations, family and friend deaths, unfulfilled dreams and wishes & not to forget the complex issues of the heart. [ I know that last part might be seen as trivial but it isn’t really. People die from them things you know 😕 ]

Now, I had hoped that today, I would wait eagerly for the birthday messages to come in by 12am; the calls that would make my happiness giggle; the voice notes I’d save to listen to again in private moments. The possible twitter threads, the DMs, the idiotic messages from my close friends and the hugs I might get later in the day. The happy birthday news would brighten my day and make the year slightly more bearable. Life on the other hand had some news to break to me first.

Scrolling through my twitter timeline, I began to notice bits and pieces of news about a terrorist attack at the Turkish airport, which happened in the early hours of today. I would like to apologize to the people who called me and heard me tearing up over the phone. I find it very saddening to believe that while I celebrate an additional year, 36 people have lost theirs today due to the selfishness of human nature. My heart goes out to the families of the victims who have had loved ones taken from them in this abominable act of terrorism. I pray God provides them with the strength they need to survive this. I plead with everyone reading this post to take them into their prayers as we pray for ourselves.

This gives me an extra reason why I have to be happy that I’m still here and not the victim of some unexpected tragedy. Moving into today, I step out with a new outlook on life, a renewed source of motivation and a killer instinct for success.

I have a message to certain people in my life.

  • To the ones who have seen me weak, broken and hopeless but still found it in their heart to help me up
  • To the ones who push me when my body has given in to the pain
  • To the ones who have been a constant source of joy in all aspects of my life
  • To the ones who have provided me with advice so keen it leaves the world seeing me as intelligent
  • To the ones who have my best interests at heart
  • To the ones who’ve taught me the unadulterated meaning of love
  • To the one who I look to share this meaning of love with

I appreciate every single one of you. You are all joys in my heart and I ever love you so. The rewards of helping someone as broken as me can only result in bountiful treasures which are much more than thy minds can begin to fathom.

To the ladies in my life, I offer you digital cheek kisses as I cannot kiss all of you unfortunately, for reasons which are for me to know. You remain very beautiful women and I perceive you as nothing else. I will always be your fan and you’ll always see me in the stands cheering you on in whichever endeavor you take upon yourself.

To my guys, you’re the best. Knuckles to be chopped are in stock and waiting for everyone. I know we’re all going to grow together. In 30 years time, we’re all going to be seated around a cozy fireplace at a winter getaway, sipping hot cocoa as we laugh at the corniness of this post in the future.

To Enyinnaya, I know you’re going to do it. Your challenger awaits you in the mirror. Face him. Worrying still leaves your challenger standing. Punch him to hell till he bleeds.

Mood: Kings Never DieEminem

1 thought on “Birthday Post: Still here

Leave a comment